LICENSING, AUDIT AND GENERAL PURPOSES COMMITTEE

Meeting held on Wednesday, 16th October, 2019 at the Council Offices, Farnborough at 7.00 pm.

Voting Members

Cllr J.E. Woolley (Chairman)
Cllr S.J. Masterson (Vice-Chairman)

Cllr J.B. Canty
Cllr Veronica Graham-Green
Cllr Christine Guinness
Cllr A.J. Halstead
Cllr L. Jeffers
Cllr P.F. Rust
Cllr Jacqui Vosper

Apologies for absence were submitted on behalf of Cllr A.K. Chowdhury and Cllr Prabesh KC.

15. MINUTES

The Minutes of the meeting held on 23rd September, 2019 were approved and signed by the Chairman.

The Committee noted that a Briefing Note had been circulated by the Executive Head of Finance providing an update on the ongoing discussions with the External Auditor on unresolved valuation issues in respect of the 2018/19 Statement of Accounts. It was expected that an agreed position and audit opinion would be presented to the Committee at the meeting on 25th November, 2019.

16. EXCLUSION OF THE PUBLIC

RESOLVED: That, taking into account the public interest test, the public be excluded from the meeting during the discussion of the undermentioned item to avoid the disclosure of exempt information within the paragraph of Schedule 12A to the Local Government Act, 1972, indicated against such item:

Minute No. Schedule 12A Paragraph No.

Category

Information relating to an individual

THE FOLLOWING ITEM WAS CONSIDERED IN THE ABSENCE OF THE PUBLIC

17. APPOINTMENT OF HONORARY ALDERMEN

The Committee considered the Head of Democracy, Strategy and Partnership's Report No. DSP1909 which set out details of four nominations to be approved as Honorary Aldermen of the Borough.

Provisions for the appointment of Honorary Aldermen were contained in the Local Government Act, 1972 and the criteria adopted by the Council had been circulated to Committee members with the agenda. The criteria included that former councillors were required to have not less than 16 years' service with the Council or its constituent authorities and should normally be a resident of the Borough. If the proposals were supported by the Committee then arrangements would be made for an Extraordinary Meeting of the Council to be held on 3rd December, 2019 to enable the honour to be bestowed on those who accepted their invitation to become an Honorary Alderman.

The Committee discussed each of the nominations and was of the unanimous opinion that Mr. D. Cappleman, Sue A. Dibble, Mr. A.E.A. Gardiner and Mr. D.M. Welch should be appointed as Honorary Aldermen of the Borough in recognition of their eminent service to the Borough.

RESOLVED: That the Council, at an Extraordinary Meeting arranged for this purpose, be asked to appoint Mr. D. Cappleman, Sue A. Dibble, Mr. A.E.A. Gardiner and Mr. D.M. Welch as Honorary Aldermen of the Borough in recognition of their eminent service to the Council and Borough.

The meeting closed at 7.23 pm.

CLLR J.E. WOOLLEY (CHAIRMAN)